Meet Melvin & Karin in Illinois

Melvin and Karin are waiting to welcome a child into their heart and home through open adoption.

Learn more about them!

Dear Birth Mother/Family,

Thank you so much for giving us this opportunity to introduce ourselves and tell you about our family. We are Karin and Melvin. We are grateful that you love your unborn child so much that you are willing to consider an adoption plan for him or her. Please know that we are praying for you and your sweet baby throughout your pregnancy, and for you to find peace in the decision you make.

If you decide to make an adoption plan, we want to assure you that we promise to respect you and whatever level of openness and contact that you want to have with your child. We promise to cherish and love your child with our hearts and souls and to provide a safe, happy, home and a life with every opportunity possible.

While we have always known that adoption would be part of our plan, we did not know that it would be our only path to becoming parents. We are open to welcoming a child of any race or culture into our home and will strive to embrace and celebrate your traditions, family, and culture. It is important for us that our child can embrace their entire identity. Our home is filled with unconditional love, and we are so excited at the prospect of including a child into our home and hearts.

Thank you, Melvin & Karin

Our Story

We met at Michigan State University in 2003. We became fast friends, but as we were both nearing the end of our tenure at school, we were pulled to different places upon graduation in 2004. Our friendship grew over many phone conversations and emails from across the world. Then fast forward to 2014, with a little bit of luck we ended up together in Chicago, Illinois.

As both of us love college football and Christmastime, we got engaged at the Christkindlmarket Market in Chicago in 2014 and then married in Michigan during an MSU home football weekend in 2017. After we got married, we spent a year living out in Maryland, but ultimately missed the Midwest and settled back into the Chicago area in 2019.

About Us

Fun Facts About Karin

Childhood activities: Anything outside but I loved horses growing up and spent a lot of time at stables and at horseback riding camp during the summer.
Favorite Food: Detroit style pizza in the winter, watermelon in the summer.
What I do in my spare time: swimming, going on adventures with our dog Brutus to the local parks and trails, attempting to relearn to speak French, trying new restaurants with Melvin, and I will never pass up a movie marathon on the couch with Melvin and Brutus.

Karin Through Melvin’s Eyes

She is a natural mother. She is a very caring person and a great listener. She is naturally empathetic and great at seeing different points of view. She is my rock and is unconditionally supportive of me in everything that I do.

She can always make me laugh by dancing or cracking jokes to silly things that Brutus or I do. She has opened my mind to trying new activities and different types of food. She is a great cook and loves to make up new recipes.

Fun Facts About Melvin

Childhood activities: Everything sports.  I played basketball and football through high school and also loved getting together to play with friends throughout my childhood.
Favorite Food: Karin’s meatloaf and mashed potatoes.
What I do in my spare time: I am a collegiate advisor to the Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity at Lake Forest College, I coach a semi-pro basketball team which has given me the chance to travel to different places across the country and even London, England, I also will never pass up a movie marathon or watching sports at home with Karin and Brutus.
Fun fact: I have worked in 3 other countries besides the US.

Melvin Through Karin’s Eyes

Melvin really was born to be a dad. He is kind and sensitive and always finds a way to show the people in his life that he cares, from checking up on friends to bringing me my favorite dinner after a hard day, he is quick to show people that they matter. I love that he has friends from all the stages of his life, he makes the effort to make people feel included and important. He is the person that walks into a room and makes sure that everyone feels like they belong.

I love his sense of adventure. He loves to travel and try new things and has helped me get outside of my comfort zone both personally and to take steps to further my career.

Our Home

Currently we live in an apartment community in a North Shore suburb of Chicago. Our community has a great small town feel. We are around a half mile away from Lake Michigan, and have access to multiple beaches, parks, and great walking trails.

Our community has a charming downtown filled with great small businesses and restaurants.  We love spending time in the downtown area and enjoy its numerous festivals throughout the year.

Our Community

Melvin’s Family

I come from a small, close-knit  family. I have one sister that lives in San Antonio, TX with her husband and my 7 year old niece and nephew. My mom is over the moon at the prospect of becoming a Grandma again and my sister is very excited to get to be an aunt. They have welcomed my wife into the family and love to spend time with both of us.  Because of my dad’s job we moved around a lot, but I have great memories from all of the places we lived.  I love going to visit my family in Texas where my mom currently lives with my sister and her family. I also have an aunt and cousins that live in Michigan that we try to spend time with anytime we are over in the Detroit area. I also have a cousin in the DC area that I loved getting to reconnect with when we lived in Maryland.

Karin’s Family

I grew up in a suburb of Detroit, MI called Bloomfield Hills. It was my mom and dad, and I have one brother that is 7 years older than me. I was adopted at birth, around a year after my parents and brother moved from Minnesota to Michigan. We have family that lives in the midwest and then all over Canada. My dad still lives in that same house and I love to go over and visit every chance that I get. My brother and his family live about a half hour from me in Evanston, IL. During the summer I spent a lot of time on my grandparents farm in Wisconsin, playing outside with my cousins during the day and having very competitive Uno tournaments at night.

Pets

This is our dog Brutus. He is a lab mix puppy that we adopted late last year. He is full of puppy energy and loves to go on adventures to any one of the many local parks or trails that are nearby. He loves meeting all people and all of the dogs that he can, and would love to have a best friend to share the back seat with on rides to the park. At the end of the day he is very cuddly and loves to spend time on the couch snuggled up next to us.

Friends and Family

Our friends and family are extremely important to us. They have been so supportive and excited for us through our relationship, marriage, and now journey through adoption. There are dozens of “aunties” and “uncles” across the country just waiting to love on a new baby.

Thank You

Thank you for taking the time to learn about our lives and our dreams. What you are doing for your child is remarkable and we wish nothing but the best for you during this journey.

Inquire to receive more info on Melvin & Karin

Hidden
Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Pregnant? Our counselors can help you explore your options.

icon of telephone in a circle

Call
1-800-222-9666

24/7. Day or night.

icon of text box in a circle

Text
1-630-205-5117

Safe and confidential.

icon of mail envelope in a circle

Email
[email protected]

We are ready to listen.