Meet Mark & Nadia in Illinois

smiling woman with her arms around a man in front of grey boulders

Mark and Nadia are waiting to welcome a child into their heart and home through open adoption.

Learn more about them!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our profile. We cannot really know what this decision is like for you. That said, we want you to know that we deeply respect the journey that has led you to this place in your life and to this decision, whatever choice you may make. We have a sincere respect for you and keep you in our thoughts. We hope you will find something in us that will bring comfort to your heart for your baby’s future.

We have always wanted children, and adoption has always been a part of our lives since Mark’s older sister was adopted. We have lots of room in our home and in our hearts for children. We look forward to meeting you and hopefully sharing in the journey ahead. We hope to form a loving connection with you and foster that between you and your child throughout the years.

Gratefully, Mark & Nadia

Our Story & How We Met

We have been together for 7.5 years, and married for the past 2.5 years. We were two Midwesterners living in Los Angeles, when we met in law school in 2013. We were both passionate about helping refugees, and we worked on a case together. Early on, we realized we had a love for the same kinds of music, television shows, and activities around L.A., like hiking. There was a definitely a spark, and after a few months of friendship, we began to date, which turned out to be the best decision of our lives. Nadia became an immigration attorney working with children. Mark started off his career as a contracts lawyer. In 2016, we moved back to Chicago, Nadia’s hometown. While we still have family in California, we were able to be closer to our Midwestern family. In Fall 2018, we got married in a beautiful ceremony in the city surrounded by our friends and family from all around the country. We also rescued two wonderful dogs from shelters and bought a house in Evanston, just north of the city. Mark made an exciting career change when he realized being a lawyer just wasn’t for him anymore. Mark is now a happy software engineer who gets to work from home.

All About Nadia

Age: 31

Occupation: Children’s Immigration Attorney


Food: Indian food

Holiday: Christmas

TV Show: The Office

Place: The Art Institute

Hobbies: Reading + Hiking + Languages + Interior Design + Fashion

Languages: English, Spanish, Polish, Russian, Portuguese

Ethnicity: Polish, Serbian, German

I grew up in the Western Suburbs of Chicago with my parents and two younger siblings. I played tennis both in high school and college. My favorite memories from childhood are playing with my siblings, family vacations, going to the library with my mom, and practicing sports with my dad. In college, I studied abroad in Granada, Spain. I love working with and taking care of children. I am most excited to play with my children, take them to the park, the library, and on family vacations throughout the country and around the world.

Mark’s Thoughts on Nadia

Nadia is my rock. She is fiercely loyal and puts others before herself. I’m a better person because I try to live up to her example. When anyone sees Nadia with kids, they know she’s going to be a great mother. I know, because many of them have told me so! I get to be my whole self with Nadia and know that she loves me for me, and our children will get the same privilege. Our kids will be so lucky to have her as their mother.

smiling woman in glasses green shirt and black blazer
smiling woman with her arm around boy in red shirt

All About Mark

Age: 35

Occupation: Software Engineer


Food: Food Truck Tacos

Holiday: Thanksgiving

TV Show: Parks and Rec

Place: Sunny Patios

Hobbies: Cooking + Videogames + Ohio State Football + Home improvement

Languages: English, Spanish, Russian, French

Ethnicity: German, Hungarian, Slovakian

I grew up in Akron, Ohio with my parents and my older sister who was adopted. We have a close bond and adoption was always a positive part of my family’s story. Growing up I loved sports, especially soccer and lacrosse, and was always one of the few kids in school looking forward to his math and science classes. I kept active running two half marathons while in school. I studied chemistry and law in college. I currently work as a software engineer, in a great job where I can work from home.

Nadia’s Thoughts on Mark

Mark is one of the most caring people I know. He always wants to make sure that people feel welcome. He loves to cook, which means he is always serving up tasty meals and snacks. Mark is also very outgoing and can make anyone laugh, even on a bad day. Mark cares so much for me and our dogs, and I know he will be an amazing father. Mark is also one of the smartest people I know. He can make even math and science fun and exciting to learn about to a non-math/science person. I already know he will help our kids with their homework, take them outside to play soccer, and tell them jokes to cheer them up.

man in red v-neck shirt smiling at camera
smiling man laying in the grass

Our Home & Community

We have a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom home in Southwest Evanston. We have a finished basement and a fenced in backyard. Our neighborhood is the perfect mix of suburb and city. Just halfway down the block of our dead-end street, is the entrance to a very large park. We can walk through the park to get to the elementary school. We live in a diverse, mixed race/ethnicity community, which is very important to us. The makeup of the elementary school is very evenly split between Hispanic, African American, and White. No matter our child’s racial and ethnic background, we want to ensure they grow up in a diverse community. We are also a short drive to grocery stores, library, pool, and other community resources. We love living in a city connected to public transit.

Our Families

Nadia’s Family

Nadia grew up with her parents, younger sister, and younger brother. Nadia’s parents still live in the Western Suburbs of Chicago, and we see them at least once a month. They have a large house, yard, and pool. They do not have any grandchildren yet and are so excited to have them. Nadia’s siblings live in California and Texas. Two of Nadia’s mom’s cousins were adopted so the family is already familiar with adoption. Nadia’s family loves family meals, relaxing in the pool and backyard, and attending sporting events together, especially baseball games.

five smiling people standing with their arms around each other

Mark’s Family

Mark grew up with his parents and older sister. We think Mark’s older sister, Kristen, will be such a great aunt and role model, because she was adopted when she was a baby. Mark is also blessed to have a blended family of stepsiblings, nieces, and nephews. Mark’s family are in Ohio and California. We see them all several times a year.

two smiling woman holding pumpkins sitting on giant yellow patio chair


All About Milo

Age: 5.5

Breed: Mix, likely part Beagle

Favorite place: Snuggling on someone’s lap

Favorite things: Naps, cuddling and treats!

When we first moved to Chicago, we rescued Milo. At the time, he was just a puppy at 11 months old. He originally came from Kentucky and was found on the street. He ended up in Chicago in our loving family. Despite some severe anxiety about being alone, Milo is doing much better now. It also makes him a people person and a snuggler. He always looks like a puppy despite his age! His favorite thing is to snuggle. He is great around children. Nadia’s sister was a nanny for many years, and Milo loved meeting, playing with, and cuddling with her kids. He was very patient with them petting him, patting his body, and grabbing his tail.

All About Gnocchi

Age: 2.5

Breed: Labrador mix, mostly black lab

Favorite place: The park, our backyard and our large basement

Favorite things: Toys, playing fetch, going on walks

We rescued Gnocchi when he was also just a puppy, around 1 year old. Gnocchi is a black lab with tons of playful energy! He loves, loves, loves toys. Labs are great dogs for children, especially as they grow, as labs are loyal companions and love to play. Gnocchi’s favorite game is fetch, which he could play for hours. He also loves running through the sprinkler. He is great at cuddling once he gets tired at night. We know that Gnocchi will be protective of his new human sibling, and he will be so excited to play with them in our backyard once they are old enough.

Our Hobbies & Adventures

We love some time at home to cook and enjoy television and movies together. We also love board games. When the weather is nice, we go for a daily walk either in the neighborhood or the park with our dogs. Our best friends live just a 4-minute walk from us, and we often spend evenings in each other’s backyards, grilling out and playing games. We love to take trips to go on hikes and even camp. We love Chicago sports and attend baseball and basketball games. We also love to travel, and we have been to many different countries. We can’t wait to expand that list, help our child learn about other cultures, languages, and people, and hopefully instill that travel bug in them too. We are blessed to have a wide range of friends, from our childhoods, throughout our various schooling, and jobs. Finally, we love live music and hope to resume attending concerts someday. We especially love family outings to live music and picnics at Ravinia.

man and woman smiling in front of colorful buildings and river
smiling man with his arm around a woman in front of large canyon

Thank You

We have talked about adoption for years, and we know that it is the right thing for us at this time to grow our family. We also hope to add more children to our family in the future so that our child will have siblings. We have so much love to give, and are so happy to grow our family. We are going to fiercely love and support your child in whatever they choose to do in life.

We will teach them love and acceptance. We will also provide them with educational, travel, and social opportunities. Finally, racial justice and social justice are extremely important to us. No matter the race and ethnicity of our child, we plan to teach our child about these important issues. We hope to raise our child to be bilingual in Spanish.

Thank you for taking the time to get to know us.

Nadia & Mark

smiling man and woman sitting on porch with two dogs

Inquire to receive more info on Mark & Nadia

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Pregnant? Our counselors can help you explore your options.

icon of telephone in a circle


24/7. Day or night.

icon of text box in a circle


Safe and confidential.

icon of mail envelope in a circle

[email protected]

We are ready to listen.