Meet Your 2017 Holt Camp Counselors!

One reason why we’re SO excited about Holt Adoptee Camp this year is because of these 15 amazing counselors! If you’re going to camp this summer, get to know your counselors a bit ahead of time and get excited about meeting them soon! More than anything, they’re looking forward to meeting YOU! 

A.J.

My name is A.J. Wittrig and I was adopted from South Korea when I was 4 months old. I am currently a student at Linn Benton Community College. I enjoy the outdoors, photography, and playing piano, guitar and drums. I am most excited to spend some time this summer giving back to this great organization, Holt International. I’m a people person and I look forward to new friendships and travel.

 

JASMINE

Hey everyone! My name is Jasmine, I am a junior studying at the University of Maryland Baltimore County and I was adopted from Anhui Province, China. A fun fact about myself is that I play on an all-women’s ultimate frisbee team and I’d love to teach others how to play! I am very excited to be a part of Holt camp this summer, and am most looking forward to meeting more adoptees and being a positive mentor within the adoptee community.

 

ADDIE

Hi! My name is Addie, I am adopted from South Korea and I grew up in Oregon. I was raised by a single mom and by my older brother who’s five years older than me. I am 20, going to Boise State University and majoring in graphic design. I am super excited to be back this summer on staff. I’m really excited to continue my involvement with Holt and for the summer camp adventures!

 

BETHANY

Hi! My name is Bethany Cobb. I am 22 years old and I currently live in Alabama. I was adopted from South Korea when I was 9 days old. I have lived on three continents including North America. I used to live in Germany where I did Irish dance and competed around the country. I am most excited about getting to know other adoptees as well as learning their stories and where they come from! I am so excited to meet everyone and this summer is going to be so much fun!

 

CHRIS

Hey! My name is Chris Childers. I am 20 years old, from Georgia and I go to school in Atlanta. I was adopted from Bangkok, Thailand. I enjoy playing video games with friends and have a habit of singing a lot when I’m having a good time. I love music and consider it a vital part of my life. I consider myself a jokester — so don’t take my teasing personally, because I tend to mess around with everyone! I’m excited about being a counselor because this gives me the opportunity to help other kids create their own memories. I also think that being a counselor will give me the chance to make lifelong friends, so I look forward to seeing all the new faces.

 

LISA

My name is Lisa and I was born in China and raised in New York City. I have many interests, some of which include hiking, ultimate frisbee, metalwork, photography and especially traveling. This photo of me was during my semester in Denmark. I am most excited to meet everyone and learn about what it’s like to grow up in other parts of the country!

 

BREANNA

My name is Breanna Linder. I am from southeast Michigan and adopted from Roseville, Michigan as a domestic adoptee. I am currently attending Spring Arbor University and studying social work. Some activities that I enjoy include going on road trips, going to concerts, trying new things, laughing and surrounding myself with good people. I am looking forward to making a difference in the campers’ lives this year at Holt Camp!

 

TYLER

Hey everyone! My name is Tyler Buek and I’m a South Korean adoptee. This will be my second time returning to Holt camp as a staff member. I’ve been a camper for five years, a counselor in training (CIT) for one year, and was a counselor in 2014. I’m currently finishing up my last year at Rutgers University with a major in environmental and business economics and have lived in New Jersey my whole life. I’m usually very loud and obnoxious with a passion, but I promise it’s in a good way. My favorite sport was swimming competitively from 8-18 years old — and I still love to swim today. I also like to explore new places, try new foods (or just eat in general), spend time with friends and all that good stuff. I’m excited to be back on staff this summer, to meet all the new members and have them be a part of the Holt camp family. In addition, of course, I’m super stoked to travel all around the different campsites and bring all the liveliness that I have for Holt camp to all the campers.

 

NOLIN

My name is Nolin Tanabe, but many people call me Tanabe. I was adopted from Hanoi, Vietnam when I was several months old and I was raised on the west coast in Sacramento, California. I am finishing my second year at Cal State San Marcos, in SoCal, where I’m part of several club sport teams. I hope to join the medical field in some way, so feel free to test my knowledge on the subject and I’ll try to drop some knowledge on y’all this summer. I enjoy hiking/walking, reading, tea, music and being active outdoors. I like to have conversations, so don’t be afraid to talk to me even though I may look angry or distracted at times. Eating is a passion for me, so don’t hesitate to offer me food. This will be my 12th year at camp and my 3rd year on staff. I am very excited to meet you all.

 

AMELIA

Hey everyone! My name is Amelia and I am a Korean adoptee. I currently live in Wayne, Nebraska and am graduating high school in May! I will be attending Occidental College in Los Angeles, California, and you betcha I’m ready for that warm weather!! I enjoy music, iced mochas, gymnastics, basketball, traveling and trying new things! I went to Holt camp for five years when I was 9 to 13 years old with my brother Jackson. He was adopted from South Korea, too, and is two years older than me! I made so many incredible friends at camp, and we are all still so close! Holt camp has helped me become much more comfortable in my own skin. Growing up as an international adoptee isn’t a walk in the park, but having a place where I felt I belonged has had such a profound impact on my life. Holt camp made me feel less different because I met so many kids who were just like me. While every adoptee’s story differs, we all share similar experiences that tie us together at our core. This summer, I hope to reunite with camp friends, make so many new friends and have an absolute blast. I am so stoked to meet so many amazing adoptees, and I know for sure that Holt Camp 2017 will be the best yet!!

 

NATALIE

My name is Natalie Gauger and I was adopted from China at around 9 months old. I am a high school senior and currently live in Greensboro, North Carolina. Some of my interests include reading, watching movies, political, environmental and social activism, cooking, baking and community service. I love meeting new people, hearing their stories and sharing my own. I also look forward to making unforgettable experiences. As I learn about my fellow counselors and campers alike, I hope to gain not only friends, but a lifelong family. I know that Holt provides wonderful opportunities for children around the world, and I can’t wait to be a part of the Holt Adoptee Summer Camp of 2017.

 

LEAH

Hello my name is Leah and I am a Korean adoptee! I am from Hamden, Connecticut and have been a camper at Holt for nine years, a counselor for one, and am now returning as part of leadership! I am a rising senior at Sacred Heart University majoring in social work with an honors and health science minor. I also have two brothers named Luke and Ben who are also adopted from Korea (my parents thought it would be clever to name us after Star Wars characters). I love photography, hiking, field hockey and meeting new people! I can’t wait to be a part of this amazing adoptee experience and meet other adoptees around the U.S.! I am eager to share my own adoption experiences, reunite with old friends and make new ones! Holt camp has helped me find my own identity and has given me friendships and memories that I will never forget. Here’s to another unforgettable summer!

 

MANI

Hello! My name is Mani Woodward and I graduated this past year from the University of Oregon with a double major in human physiology and Chinese. I was born near Chennai, India and was adopted when I was 6 years old. I have lived in the Pacific Northwest ever since. I also have two brothers and three sisters, all of whom are adopted from India as well. I’m ecstatic to join Holt camp as it will be my first time attending. I have never been to a camp that is specifically for adoptees, so I am really looking forward to sharing my experiences and hearing all of yours!

 

CALEY

Hi, I’m Caley, and I was adopted from Danang, Vietnam when I was 10 months old. I have been involved with Oregon’s Holt camp for eight years as a camper and counselor in training (CIT) and I am so excited to be a counselor this year to be able to connect with more adoptees across the country. Some of my favorite camp games and songs include elbow tag, sit on the fence and the pony song.

 

LYNN

Hi! My name is Lynn. I was born in Changde, Hunan, China and grew up with my adoptive mother in Miami, FL. Now, I’m a freshman at Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts. I was a Holt camper in California for six years and can’t wait to be a counselor this year. I’m looking forward to a fun time with all the great campers across the country and sharing in this wonderful experience!

 

Learn more about Holt Camp! 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *